God Of My Salvation

darknessI walk along this broken road
Through a valley dark and alone
There's no companion, no hope to hold
No fire to warm my weary bones
As I call, unheard, for help.

The darkness surrounds, encompasses me
Until even the stars are blotted out
I have no lantern by which to see
My head and heart now drown with doubt
As I call, unheard, for help.

Held captive by these mountains of fear
Like a thousand swords against my neck
While my cries fall upon deaf ears
And towards me no-one takes a step
As I call, unheard, for help.

The friends with whom I used to laugh
Now ignore my hurt and pain.
My life to them is merely chaff
Though love for me they once did feign
As I call, unheard, for help.

As his hand for me now extends
I've given up, prepared for Death
Will Darkness remain my closest friend?
And yet I struggle, gasping for breath
As I call, unheard, for help.

Is this the end for which I long?
If you heard my cry, would you comply,
Or would this in your ears be wrong
If I pray, 'Lord, just let me die,'?
As I call, unheard, for help.

My other prayers you've turned aside
So I have but rocks for my stomach
Now in this downward spiral I slide
And in silence await that last trumpet
As I call, unheard, for help.

Will your Light of Hope not pierce this depression?
How long must my life around me crumble?
Eternal God of my salvation,
To the grave will I now stumble?
As I call, unheard, for help.

I cry out, 'How long?' from within this darkness
Since you hold in your bottle my every tear
Arise and breath life into this carcass
O, LORD, my God who save me, hear
As I call to you for help.
Leave a Reply

